Personal Support

Overview | Education & Career Planning | Student Success | Mental Health & Wellness | FAQs
separator

Overview

counselling services Personal, emotional and academic problems are a normal part of student life.  That’s why Counselling Services are available to support all registered CNA students in coping with these challenges.  We offer a variety of services to help you:

  • Individual counselling sessions in a private, supportive and confidential environment
  • Crisis intervention and crisis management
  • Sessions and workshops to help you develop the necessary skills to succeed at CNA (E.g. study skills, time management skills, etc.)
  • Workshops and awareness campaigns to promote overall wellness (E.g. mental health awareness, stress management, mindfulness, etc.)
For more information, contact us today.  We look forward to helping you have the best College experience possible! 
separator

In Crisis?

In crisis? Feeling unsafe? Worried you might hurt yourself or others?

  • Contact someone you trust
  • Go to the nearest hospital
  • Call 911
  • Call a crisis line:
    • Mental Health Crisis Line 1-888-737-4668 or  CLICK HERE to view the Service Directory.
    • Crisis Text Line: Text “Talk” to 686868
    • THANL (Transition House)  has a shelter in your region with an emergency crisis line: CLICK HERE to find a shelter near you.
    • Sexual Assault Crisis Line 1-800-726-2743
separator

FAQ's

Why seek help?

When should I seek counselling?

How do I make an appointment?

How long does it take to get an appointment?

Is counselling confidential?

How much does it cost?

How many sessions will I get?

What are my Responsibilities?

What should I do if I am in crisis?

 

separator

Meet The Team

Some positions cover multiple campuses. Those campuses are:
  • Frank Williams covers Clarenville and Bonavista campuses
  • Jeff Patry covers Corner Brook campus and St. Anthony campuses
  • John Edwards covers Ridge Road campus and Seal Cove campuses
  • Nicole Pickett covers Bay St. George and Port aux Basques campuses
  • Sandy Maher covers Carbonear campus and Placentia campuses
Bay St. George Campus
pointer Allison Lomond | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/643-7733  | allison.lomond@cna.nl.ca
pointer Nichole Pickett | Guidance Counsellor  | nichole.pickett@cna.nl.ca

Burin Campus
pointer Craig Wells | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/891-5623  | craig.wells@cna.nl.ca

Clarenville Campus
pointer Frank Williams | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/466-6902  | frank.williams@cna.nl.ca

Corner Brook Campus
pointer Julia McDonald | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/637-8527  | julia.mcdonald@cna.nl.ca

Gander Campus
pointer David Alcock | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/651-4842  | david.alcock@cna.nl.ca

Happy Valley-Goose Bay Campus
pointer Lesley Tucker | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/896-6306  | lesley.tucker@cna.nl.ca

Headquarters
pointer Jeffrey Patry | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/637-8586  | jeff.patry@cna.nl.ca
pointer Sandy Maher | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/596-8926  | sandy.maher@cna.nl.ca

Labrador West Campus
pointer Pamela Meaney-Pieroway | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/944-4189  | pamela.meaney-pieroway@cna.nl.ca

Prince Philip Drive Campus
pointer Bertha Tobin | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/292-5624  | bertha.tobin@cna.nl.ca
pointer Nadine Humber | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/758-7578  | nadine.humber@cna.nl.ca
pointer Tara Thomas | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/758-7314  | tara.thomas@cna.nl.ca
pointer Ted Power | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/758-7368  | ted.power@cna.nl.ca

Ridge Road Campus
pointer John Edwards | Guidance Counsellor  | 709/758-7035  | john.edwards@cna.nl.ca

Distributed Learning (Online)
pointer  Suzanne Keeping | Guidance Counsellor | 1.877.465.2250 – Option 1 | ecounsellor@cna.nl.ca

Some positions cover multiple campuses. Those campuses are:
  • Frank Williams covers Clarenville and Bonavista campuses
  • Jeff Patry covers Corner Brook campus and St. Anthony campuses
  • John Edwards covers Ridge Road campus and Seal Cove campuses
  • Nicole Pickett covers Bay St. George and Port aux Basques campuses
  • Sandy Maher covers Carbonear campus and Placentia campuses